๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ EBU suspends Russian members from governance groups

๐Ÿ‡ท๐Ÿ‡บ EBU suspends Russian members from governance groups

The EBU has suspended its Russian members (RTR, Channel One, and RDO) from serving on its governance groups, in light of the ongoing events in Ukraine. This follows the decision to exclude the country from taking part in the 2022 Eurovision Song Contest in Turin.

“Withdrawal from EBU verbally confirmed”

In its statement, the EBU has confirmed that all three broadcasters have verbally confirmed their intent to leave the European Broadcasting Union, the organization is still awaiting formal confirmation of this.

The EBU has mentioned that the EBU’s suspension from its governance groups will remain in effect until further notice has been given by the Executive board.

EBU Members which called for expulsion of Russian Broadcasters

Several EBU members had made statements on Friday that called for the EBU to expel Russian broadcasters in response to the unlawful invasion of Ukraine.

These include:

  • UA:PBC (Ukraine)
  • ERR (Estonia)
  • LRT (Lithuania)
  • NRK (Norway)
  • SVT (Sweden)
  • YLE (Finland)
  • RUV (Iceland)
  • DR (Denmark)
  • AVROTROS (The Netherlands)

Additionally, 2022 Latvian Representatives Citi Zeni spoke out in a statement made via Twitter. In it, they pled for “the sound of beauty” not to become “the sound of war”.

If you wish to read more about the unfolding situation in Ukraine, r/Ukraine has a pinned post with links to information, resources, and places to donate if you wish to do so.

News Source: EBU

Photo Source: EBU

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: