๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡พ Cyprus to internally select for Eurovision 2023 instead of using ‘All Together Now’?

๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡พ Cyprus to internally select for Eurovision 2023 instead of using ‘All Together Now’?

There seems to have been a change of plans in Cyprus to their method to select their entry for Eurovision 2023, with an internal selection being used rather than the TV Show ‘All Together Now’.

All Together Now

Recently the trailer for the Cypriot version of ‘All Together Now’ was released but no mention of Eurovision entry as a prize was made, despite reports earlier that the show would be used as a means to select Cyprus entry for 2023.

The TV format originated in the United Kingdom on the BBC in 2018 and run for 2 series before it was axed. The first series was won by Michael Rice, who later went on to represent the United Kingdom at Eurovision 2019.

Cyproit Selection for 2023

It seems now that ‘All Together Now’ will instead be the process used for the Cyprus entry in 2024 rather than next year. According to OGAE Greece the change seems to have been made to allow for more preparation.

As a result, it looks like the Cypriot broadcaster CyBC will now select their act for the Eurovision Song Contest internally and not by a national selection show. This is not unusual, Cyprus has internally selected their acts for Eurovision every year since 2016.

Cyprusโ€™ Eurovision Journey

Cyprus debuted at the Eurovision Song Contest in 1981 where they placed 6th with Islandโ€™s โ€œMonikaโ€. They have participated in every contest since, except for 1988, 2001, and 2014, with 38 entrants and counting. Consequently, Cyprus currently holds the record for most Eurovision participations without a win.

Their best result to date was in 2018 when Eleni Foureira placed 2nd with Fuego.

In 2022, Cyprus failed to qualify from their semi-final to the Eurovision final for the first time since 2013. Andromache represented Cyprus this year with the song ‘Ela’, which finished 12th with 63 points in Semi-Final 2.

News Source: OGAE Greece

Photo Credit: EBU / Sarah Louise Bennett

Leave a Reply