🇳🇴 Big names in attendance for Melodi Grand Prix songwriting camps

🇳🇴 Big names in attendance for Melodi Grand Prix songwriting camps

Over the past few weeks, Stig Karlsen, Norway’s head of delegation, has been sharing the status of multiple songwriting camps happening around the country. This comes a few weeks after NRK opened submissions for Melodi Grand Prix 2023.

Familiar Melodi Grand Prix faces

These camps see singers and songwriters writing and recording multiple songs a day in the hopes to compete in Melodi Grand Prix and the chance to represent Norway at the Eurovision Song Contest. Additionally, in previous years a majority of songs have come out of these camps.

Over the course of the camps, Norwegian head of delegation, Stig Karlsen, shared photos from the event where many familiar faces could be seen. Some artists in attendance from previous editions of MGP are: Elsie Bay (2022), Oda Gondrosen (2022), Imerika (2021), Emmy (2021), Raylee (2020/2021), and Tone Damli (2020). Other notable artists in attendance were Alessandra Mele (The Voice Norge 2022), Lillen Stenberg (Idol 2017) and Magnus Winjlum (MGPjr 2017). Many smaller artists were also in attendance.

Some notable songwriters from previous editions have been Christian Ingebrigtsen (artist 2022, songwriter: Attention, 2020), Åge Nilsen (MGP Winner 2005), Eniar Kvaløy (Lights Off, Czech Republic 2022), Alan Roy Scott (Cleopatra, Azerbaijan 2020), Mortan Franck (I Can’t Escape, 2021), Bjørn Edvardsen (I Can’t Escape, 2021), Ben Adams (I Can’t Escape, 2021), Audun Agnar Guldbrandsen (Ecstacy, 2022), and Jonas Jensen (Death of Us, 2022).

The list contains many fan-favorite artists from previous editions as well as winning songwriters. One notable songwriter missing has been Mørland (Norway 2015) who has previously written songs for the past three editions of Melodi Grand Prix. Additionally, fan-favorite, and former MGP winner, Ulrikke was not in attendance.

Norway’s path to Eurovision 2023

The Scandinavian nation made its debut in the Eurovision Song Contest in 1960, with Nora Brockstedt and the song “Voi Voi”, which placed 4th. Since their debut, they have participated 60 times, and made the grand final 57 of these. In addition, Norway has won the competition three times (1985, 1995, and 2009).

Norway’s latest Eurovision participation saw them being represented by Subwoolfer with the song “Give That Wolf a Banana”. During their participation, Norway placed 10th in the grand final, receiving 182 points from the jury and televoters.

What do you think of these potential artists? Will Ulrikke make a return in 2023? As always, let us know what you think by commenting below. In addition, be sure to follow ‘THAT Eurovision Site’ on FacebookInstagram and Twitter for all things MGP.

Photo Credit: NRK/Julia Maria Naglestad

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: