Eurovision 2022 Allocation Draw to take place on January 25

Eurovision 2022 Allocation Draw to take place on January 25

The allocation for this year’s Eurovision semi finals will take place on January 25th 2022. This news was broken by Montenegrin broadcaster RTCG when revealing their artist Vladana Vučinić. Where this allocation will take place or who will host the event is yet to be revealed.

How the Allocation draw works

Italy, Spain, France Germany and the United Kingdom will not be in the allocation draw as they are part of the “Big 5”. The Big 5 are the biggest financial contributors to the EBU. Italy is typically included in this list however, it wouldn’t have mattered this year if they weren’t as the host country in Eurovision is always prequalified to the final. The Big 5 will vote in one of the two semi finals, this will also be decided at this year’s allocation draw.

This year 36 countries will be in the allocation draw pots with 18 countries participating in each semi final. Based on geographical location and past voting history the 36 countries will be split into 5 or 6 pots.

The allocation draw will also see the handover between last year’s host city Rotterdam and this year’s hosts Turin.

Which countries are in the draw?

The 36 countries in the allocation draw are as follows:

  • Albania
  • Armenia
  • Australia
  • Austria
  • Azerbaijan
  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • Georgia
  • Greece
  • Ireland
  • Iceland
  • Israel
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • North Macedonia
  • Malta
  • Moldova
  • Montenegro
  • Norway
  • Netherlands
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Czech Republic
  • Romania
  • Russia
  • San Marino
  • Serbia
  • Slovenia
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Ukraine

Where to see the draw

The draw will take place live on the official Eurovision Youtube channel, with the time to be confirmed later.

Are you excited for the allocation draw ? What will be the strongest semi this year? Let us know in the comments or on social media. Be sure to follow ‘THAT Eurovision Site’ on FacebookTwitter and Instagram.

News Source: RTCG

Photo Source: Stijn Smulders

Leave a Reply