🇺🇸 American Song Contest winners prize announced!

🇺🇸 American Song Contest winners prize announced!

It has been announced this morning that there will be 27 songs in this year’s Eurovision Song Contest Grand Final. This year the songs in the final were due to be cut down to 25 due to Italy – a big 5 nation winning the contest in 2021. However this morning it was announced the winner of the American Song Contest will get to perform at Eurovision 2022 as an additional 27th entry in the final. This is following on from the announcement that the Vatican City will be a special guest entrant for Eurovision 2022 as well.

This is the first time the USA will be represented at the Eurovision Song Contest. The entry will not take part in Semi-finals due to logistics with the final of the American Song Contest taking place on Monday, May 9th. The act will travel to Turin on the Tuesday, rehearse on Wednesday afternoon before performing live in the jury semi-final on the Wednesday where European audiences will hear a clip of their song for the first time on the live show on Thursday 12th May in the second semi-final.

How the American Song Contest works

The inaugural American Song Contest takes place at NBC Universal lot. Kelly Clarkson and Snoop Dogg are the hosts of all 8 shows. 56 artists from across the country will compete over weeks to win the title of “Best Original Song”. These eight weeks are split up into three rounds. There are 5 “Qualifying Rounds”, 2 “Semi-Finals” and one “Grand Final.”

The first five weeks are the qualifying rounds (March 21, 28, April 4, 11, 18) and see 11 artists compete (with one round of 12) for 4 slots in the Semi-Final. At the end of each night, the jury chooses one artist to advance to the semi finals while the fans vote over the next day. The remaining 3 slots are announced at the beginning of the following week’s show.

The two semi-finals (April 25 & May 2) see 22 artists compete for a slot in the Grand Final. There are 2 semis of 11 artists, with the 11th artist being a “redemption” song chosen by NBC. The jury’s choice is announced at the end of the show, and the remaining 4 slots being are announced later. Just like the qualifiers, the remaining slots are decided through a combined jury-televote.

The Grand Final sees 10 artists perform one final time to win the the votes of the jury and America. The results of the Final are live. At the end, a winner will be crowned.

More about the American Song Contest

The executive producers of the American Song Contest Audrey Morrissey, Anders Lenhoff, Christer Björkman, Peter Settman, Ola Melzig, and Gregory Lipstone alongside Propagate’s Ben Silverman and Howard T. Owens. The competition is produced by Propagate in association with Universal Television Alternative Studio, a division of Universal Studio Group.

What do you think of this breaking news? Do you think the US is a good addition to this year’s Eurovision? Let us know! Don’t forget to follow ‘THAT Eurovision Site’ over at FacebookTwitter, and Instagram.

News Source: EBU

Photo Source: NBC

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: