🇩🇰 Reiley to remain at Dansk Melodi Grand Prix 2023

🇩🇰 Reiley to remain at Dansk Melodi Grand Prix 2023

After our earlier reports that Reiley is at risk of disqualification from the Danish Eurovision 2023 selection, it has now been revealed that Reiley will remain in this year’s competition with the song “Break My Heart”.

DR does not consider that the artist has gained a competitive advantage in relation to a Danish audience and participation in DMGP

In an E-Mail to Ekstra Bladet, Erik Struve Hansen, the program manager for Dansk Melodi Grand Prix has mentioned that they have asessed the situationand that Reiley’s performance of “Breaking My Heart” in October is not an advantage.

The artist complies with the EBU’s guidelines for possible participation in Eurovision. As is clear from DR’s own guidelines, cases like this are a matter of assessment. Based on the given circumstances surrounding the individual playing of the track at a concert in South Korea in October, DR does not consider that the artist has gained a competitive advantage in relation to a Danish audience and participation in DMGP

Erik Struve Hansen on Reiley’s participation in Dansk Melodi Grand Prix

Dansk Melodi Grand Prix 2023 artists and songs

Below you can see the artists, song titles and songwriters for this year’s Dansk Melodi Grand Prix.

ArtistSong TitleSongwriters
Eyjaa“I Was Gonna Marry Him”Maria Broberg, Rasmus Olsen, Thomas Buttenschøn
Frederick Leopold“Stuck On You”Frederik Jyll, Lasse Lindorff
Maia Maia“Beautiful Bullshit”Joy Deb, Maja Barløse, Niclas Lundin
Mariyah Leberg“Human”Lars Pedersen, Mariyah LeBerg, Nermin Harambasic
Micky Skeel “Glansbillede”Martin Bjelke, Micky Skeel Hansen
Nicklas Sonne“Freedom”Nicklas Sonne
Reiley“Breaking my Heart”TBC
Søren Torpgaard Lund“Lige Her”Lasse Storm, Martin Palme Skriver, Steven McClintock, Søren Torpegaard Lund, Tim Schou Nielsen

Dansk Melodi Grand Prix will take place on February 11th, 2023. The show will take place at the Næstved Arena on the island of Sjælland. This year’s national final will be hosted by Tina Müller and Heino Hansen.

Listen to this year’s Dansk Melodi Grand Prix songs!

As always, we have made a Spotify playlist so you can listen to all the Dansk Melodi Grand Prix entries. You can check it out here!

Denmark’s Eurovision journey 

Denmark first participated in the Eurovision Song Contest back in 1957 and notched their first win in 1963 with Grethe and Jorgan Ingmann’s “Dansevise”. The country left the contest after 1966 but returned in 1978, and achieved mixed results in the next two decades. Denmark earned two third-place finishes in 1988 and 1989 but was then relegated three times in 1994, 1996, and 1998.

They finally achieved their second victory in 2000 with the Olsen Brothers’ “Fly on the Wings of Love”, and have only missed the grand final five times since the introduction of the semi-finals. A six-year qualification streak from 2008 culminated in its third win in 2013 with Emmelie de Forrest’s “Only Teardrops”.

Denmark’s recent participation saw them being represented by REDDI with the song “The Show”, which managed to place 13th in the semi-final where they received 55 points from the Jury and

Would you like to see Reiley continue to compete in DMGP? Could Denmark lose a strong entry with this news? As always, let us know what you think by commenting below. Also, be sure to follow ‘That Eurovision Site’ on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter and Tiktok as we gear up for Eurovision 2023!

News Source: Ekstra Bladet

Photo Credit: Reiley

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: