🇩🇰 Dansk Melodi Grand Prix 2023 running order revealed

🇩🇰 Dansk Melodi Grand Prix 2023 running order revealed

Denmark’s national broadcaster DR has revealed the running order for Dansk Melodi Grand Prix 2023. Eight acts will be competing to represent Denmark at Eurovision in May.

The running order for DMGP 2023 is:

Running OrderArtistSongSongwriter(s)
1.Frederik Leopold“Stuck on You”Frederik Jyll, Lasse Lindorff
2.Eyjaa“I Was Gonna Marry Him”Maria Broberg, Rasmus Olsen, Thomas Buttenschøn 
3.Micky Skeel“Glansbillede” (Shiny picture*)Martin Bjelke, Micky Skeel Hansen
4.Maia Maia“Beautiful Bullshit”Joy Deb, Maja Barløse, Niclas Lundin
5.Nicklas Sonne“Freedom”Nicklas Sonne
6.Mariyah LeBerg“Human”Lars Pedersen, Mariyah LeBerg, Nermin Harambašić
7.Søren Torpegaard Lund“Lige her” (Right here)
Lasse Storm, Martin Palme Skriver, Steven McClintock, Søren Torpegaard Lund, Tim Schou Nielsen
8.Reiley“Breaking My Heart”Bård Mathias Bonsaksen, Rani Petersen, Sivert Hjeltnes Hagtvet

*According to lyricstranslate user HinKyto, “glansbillede” (scrap picture, literally “shiny picture”) can mean a false and beautified idea of how things really are.

Dansk Melodi Grand Prix 2023 – what to expect

Traditionally, Denmark’s national selection takes place in a different city around the country and for 2023, this is no different. The Næstved Arena on the island of Sjælland will host next year’s Contest for a one-night show to be held on February 11th. This year’s show will be hosted by Tina Müller and Heino Hansen.

The winner of DMGP will be decided using over two rounds. All eight entries will perform, and the top three will be decided by a 50/50 split between a jury and public vote. The three superfinalists will then perform again, with the winner again chosen by an equally-weighted jury and televote. Viewers will be able to vote via SMS or DR’s Grand Prix app, a mobile application specifically designed for the competition. Prior to the show, the public will be provided with one free vote on the app to cast a vote each day between 6 February 2023 and 10 February 2023, while viewers using the app during the show will be provided with two free votes.

Following the semi-final allocation draw yesterday, the winner of DMGP will compete in the first half of semi-final two.

Denmark’s Eurovision journey

Denmark first participated in the Eurovision Song Contest back in 1957 and notched their first win in 1963 with Grethe and Jorgan Ingmann’s “Dansevise”. The country left the contest after 1966 but returned in 1978, and achieved mixed results in the next two decades. Denmark earned two third-place finishes in 1988 and 1989 but was then relegated three times in 1994, 1996, and 1998.

They finally achieved their second victory in 2000 with the Olsen Brothers’ “Fly on the Wings of Love”, and have only missed the grand final five times since the introduction of the semi-finals. A six-year qualification streak from 2008 culminated in its third win in 2013 with Emmelie de Forrest’s “Only Teardrops”.

Denmark’s recent participation saw them being represented by REDDI with the song “The Show”, which managed to place 13th in the semi-final where they received 55 points from the jury and televoters.

Are you excited for DMGP 2023? Who would you like to see represent Denmark this year? As always, let us know what you think by commenting below. Also, be sure to follow ‘That Eurovision Site’ on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter and Tiktok as we gear up for Eurovision 2023!

News Source: DR

Photo Credit: DR

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: