🇩🇪 “Germany 12 Points” details revealed, new air time announced

🇩🇪 “Germany 12 Points” details revealed, new air time announced

“Germany 12 Points,” Germany’s national final for Eurovision will air March 4 at 21:00 CET, broadcaster NDR has announced. It was also announced that the final will air on Das Erste as well, and who the guests will be. The change in schedule is due to a special benefit show to raise funds for Ukraine, which will air directly before “Germany 12 Points.”

All the new details for “Germany 12 Points”

“Germany 12 Points” will take place March 4 at 21:00 CET. The show will air on Das Erste, the ARD regional channels, ONE, eurovision.de and the official German Eurovision TikTok channel. A special benefit show to raise money for Ukraine will air before “Germany 12 Points” across ARD-affiliated channels. “Wir helfen – Gemeinsam für die Ukraine” will air from 20:15 to 21:00. ARD Programming Director Christine Strobl says:

When war is being waged against Ukraine, we can’t simultaneously celebrate the Eurovision Song Contest and friendship in Europe without taking a clear stance ourselves. On this evening, solidarity with Ukraine and help for the people there must come first.

Christine Strobl

There will be guest performances from singers Conchita Wurst (Austria 2014), Jane Comerford (Germany 2006 as part of Texas Lightning) and comedians Bülent Ceylan and Thomas Hermanns. ESC kompakt reports that this will include a special rendition of “Ein Bisschen Frieden,” which won for Germany in 1982.

What to expect at “Germany 12 Points”

“Germany 12 Points” is Germany’s new national final for Eurovision. The contest, set to be held March 4, will be decided through a public vote. 50% of the result is determined by the online vote, with the 9 regional ARD pop stations opening their vote on February 28. The other half of the result is determined by votes via calling and SMS, which will be available during the show. Regular German Eurovision spokesperson Barbara Schöneberger will be the host of the show. The show will feature a live performance from every entry. You can find the artists and running order for “Germany 12 Points” here. Nico Suave & Team Liebe have changed the lyrics of their song in response to the war in Ukraine. You can read the new lyrics here. The online vote results will be presented by local radio presenters, and you can find them all here.

Germany’s Eurovision Journey

Germany has been part of Eurovision since the beginning, debuting in 1956. Their debut entries were Walter Andreas Schwarz’s “Im Wartesaal zum großen Glück” and Freddy Quinn’s “So geht das jede Nacht”. Germany has appeared at every Eurovision since except for 1996, which means they have been at more contests than any other country. They have a long history of success in Eurovision, finishing in the top 3 an impressive 13 times. Germany has won the contest twice. Nicole won in 1982 with her song “Ein bißchen Frieden”, taking home 161 points in the process. Their second win came in 2019, when Lena scored 246 points with her song “Satellite”.

Germany’s most recent Eurovision entry was Jendrik’s “I Don’t Feel Hate”. As Germany is part of the Big 5, they automatically qualified for the Grand Final. In the Final, the song received 3 points and finished 25th.

Are you looking forward to Germany 12 Points? Which spokesperson are you looking forward to hearing most? And who would you like to see represent Germany at the Eurovision Song Contest? Let us know in the comments or on social media. Be sure to follow ‘THAT Eurovision Site’ on TwitterFacebook, and Instagram

News Source: NDR

Photo Source: NDR

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: