📺 New style of qualifiers announcement for Eurovision 2023 will not go ahead

📺 New style of qualifiers announcement for Eurovision 2023 will not go ahead

Ahead of the first Semi-Final for Eurovision 2023, the EBU was set to announce the qualifiers for Eurovision 2023 in a different way. However, the organisers have now confirmed that this will not be used for this year’s shows.

X Factor style qualifiers announcement was set to be used

The qualifiers for the Semi-Final were suppose to be revealed as follows:

  • All 15 countries on the main stage.
  • Hannah and Julia reveals the first five qualifiers
  • Alesha talks to the first five qualifiers on stage.
  • Hannah and Julia reveals the next four qualifiers.
  • A split screen shows the remaining participants on screen, with the final country announced.
  • Alesha talks to the remaining five qualifiers.

After the first dress rehearsal, the EBU confirmed to the Accredited Media that the new way of announcing the qualifiers will not be used for tonight’s show.

“After trying a new system of presenting the qualifying countries in Dress Rehearsal 1 of the First Semi-Final of the Eurovision Song Contest 2023, it was decided by the production team to revert back to the previous reveal sequence used in recent years with artists learning whether they will progress to the Grand Final together with their delegations in the Green Room. Whilst this change will not now be implemented this year there are other innovations in the show for viewers to look forward to”.

The EBU’s decision has been met positively, after fans took to social media to complain that the new method of announcing the qualifiers were harsh on the competing atists.

What we know about Eurovision 2023

Although Ukraine won the 2022 Eurovision Song Contest in Turin, due to the ongoing Russian invasion they are unable to host the 2023 Eurovision Song Contest. Instead, the United Kingdom stepped in, as 2022’s runner-up; Liverpool will host the 2023 Eurovision Song Contest on the 9th, 11th, and 13th of May 2023. The contest will take place at the M&S Arena, with 37 countries taking partThe full production team behind the 2023 contest is listed here. The contest is a co-production between host broadcaster the BBC and last year’s winning broadcaster, Suspilne.

Alesha Dixon, Julia Sanina and Hannah Waddingham will host the semi-finals, with Graham Norton joining the presenting team for the grand final.

What do you make of this decision by the EBU? Which countries do you think will qualify for the final? As always, let us know what you think by commenting below. Also, be sure to follow “That Eurovision Site” on FacebookInstagramTwitter, and TikTok as we prepare for Eurovision 2023!

News Source: EBU

Photo Credit: Corinne Cumming/EBU

Leave a Reply