🇺🇸 Michigan’s Ada LeAnn is the jury qualifier from show 5 of the American Song Contest

🇺🇸 Michigan’s Ada LeAnn is the jury qualifier from show 5 of the American Song Contest

Tonight, the American Song Contest continued with the last of five qualifying rounds. The show saw the final eleven artists debut their songs and compete for the last slots in the semi final. While the fate of ten are still to be decided, we now know that Ada LeAnn is the jury’s choice to advance to the semi-finals.

Round 5 Results

Running OrderStateArtistSongJury Rank Result
1IllinoisJustin Jesso“Lifeline”5thTBD
2CaliforniaSweet Taboo“Keys to the Kingdom”2ndTBD
3IdahoAndrew Sheppard“Steady Machine”6thTBD
4New MexicoKhalisol“Drop”7thTBD
5MissouriHALIE“Better Things”10thTBD
6American SamoaTenelle“Full Circle”4thTBD
7North CarolinaJohn Morgan“Right in the Middle”3rdTBD
8VermontJosh Panda“Rollercoaster”8thTBD
9GuamJason J.“Midnight”11thTBD
10MichiganAda LeAnn“Natalie”1stTBD
11MarylandSisqó“It’s Up”9thTBD

With this, Ada LeAnn advances to one of the two semi-finals on April 25 & May 2. The fate of the other ten artists will be revealed at the beginning of next week’s show when the next three qualifiers are announced. The televoting is still open and will close at 7AM ET/12PM CET Wednesday 20 April.

Wildcard Artist

Earlier today, on the Kelly Clarkson Show, the first wildcard artist was announced to be Wyoming’s Ryan Charles! This was determined since his song “New Boot Goofin'” has had the most streams of any non-qualifying artists.

Week 4 Televote Results

Additionally, at the top of the show, we learned the next three artists who advanced from last week’s episode.

ROStateArtistSongJury RankFinal
1New HampshireMARi“Fly”8th4th
2NevadaThe Crystal
“Watch Me Now”3rdNQ
3UtahSavannah Keyes“Sad Girl”7thNQ
4Washington D.C.NËITHER“I Like It”11thNQ
5MassachusettsJared Lee“Shameless”2nd2nd
6GeorgiaStella Cole“DIY”6th3rd
7HawaiiBronson Varde“4 You”9thNQ
8West VirginiaAlexis Cunningham“Working on a Miracle”5thNQ
9ArizonaLas Marias“De La Finkera”10thNQ
10PennsylvaniaBri Steves“Plenty Love”4thNQ
11WashingtonAllen Stone“A Bit of Both”1st1st

This means that Stella Cole, Jared Lee, and MARi are moving on to one of the semi-finals on April 25 & May 2.

How the American Song Contest works

The inaugural American Song Contest takes place at NBC Universal lot. Kelly Clarkson and Snoop Dogg are the hosts of all 8 shows. 56 artists from across the country will compete over weeks to win the title of “Best Original Song”. These eight weeks are split up into three rounds. There are 5 “Qualifying Rounds”, 2 “Semi-Finals” and one “Grand Final.”

The first five weeks are the qualifying rounds (March 21, 28, April 4, 11, 18) and see 11 artists compete (with one round of 12) for 4 slots in the Semi-Final. At the end of each night, the jury chooses one artist to advance to the semi finals while the fans vote over the next day. The remaining 3 slots are announced at the beginning of the following week’s show.

The two semi-finals (April 25 & May 2) see 22 artists compete for a slot in the Grand Final. There are 2 semis of 11 artists, with the 11th artist being a “redemption” song chosen by NBC. The jury’s choice is announced at the end of the show, and the remaining 4 slots being are announced later. Just like the qualifiers, the remaining slots are decided through a combined jury-televote.

The Grand Final sees 10 artists perform one final time to win the the votes of the jury and America. The results of the Final are live. At the end, a winner will be crowned.

How can you vote?

There are 3 ways to vote.

  1. The NBC website
  2. The NBC app
  3. TikTok

You can give out 10 votes per platform for a max of 30 votes. You can find more information about voting on NBC’s website.

Where can you watch

The exclusive place to watch it live will be on NBC which requires a US cable subscription. However, the shows will be available the next day on Peacock, NBC’s streaming service. Furthermore, some non-US broadcasters have acquired the rights and will stream it a couple of days after it is live. You can find a list of some of them here.

More about the American Song Contest

The executive producers of the American Song Contest Audrey Morrissey, Anders Lenhoff, Christer Björkman, Peter Settman, Ola Melzig, and Gregory Lipstone alongside Propagate’s Ben Silverman and Howard T. Owens. The competition is produced by Propagate in association with Universal Television Alternative Studio, a division of Universal Studio Group.

What did you think of the last set of qualifiers? Do you agree with the jury’s choice? Let us know! Don’t forget to follow ‘THAT Eurovision Site’ over at FacebookTwitter, and Instagram.

News Source: NBCUniversal

Photo Source: NBCUniversal

One thought on “🇺🇸 Michigan’s Ada LeAnn is the jury qualifier from show 5 of the American Song Contest

Leave a Reply