🇲🇹 Composers and Authors of MESC 2023 entries revealed

🇲🇹 Composers and Authors of MESC 2023 entries revealed

With January 2023 around the corner, the National Final season will soon be in full swing. One of the National Finals, MESC 2023; has revealed the Composers and Authors of the competing entries for the past few days, via its Social Media accounts.

Some familiar names on the list

With the reveal of the composers and authors, we see that some of the competing artists have composed their entries, as well as having composers who have competed at Eurovision. These include:

  • Dino Medanhodžić – who was one of the co-writers of Malta’s Eurovision 2022 entry “I Am What I Am” by Emma Muscat.
  • Lukas Meijer – who represented Poland at Eurovision 2018 with “Light Me Up”
  • Jonas Gladnikoff – who has wrote numerous Eurovision and Junior Eurovision entries for Ireland, as well as numerous National Final entries.
Ryan Hili“In The Silence”Aaron Sibley, Natan Dagur, Cyprian CassarAaron Sibley, Natan Dagur
Jason Scerri“Anything Can Happen”Jason ScerriJason Scerri
The Busker“Dance (Our Own Party)”Dav.Jr, Jean Paul Borg, Sean Meachen, Matthew James Borg, Michael Joe CiniDav.Jr
Marie Claire“Thankful”Rickard Bonde Truumeel, Linda Persson, Ylva Persson, Thorghy Landgren, Thomas RodinEmil Calleja Bayliss
Andre’“Broken Hill”Toby Farrugia & David Cassar TorreggianiAndre’ Portelli
Bradley Debono“Blackout”Christina MagrinChristina Magrin
Dario Bezzin“Bridle Road”Darren Michaels, Martin ÄlenmarkCharlie Mason
James Louis“Dream”James LouisJames Louis
Kirstie“Girls Get Down”Cyprian CassarMuxu
Mikhail Attard“Leħen Fiċ-ċpar”
(Voice In The Mist)
Cyprian CassarCliff Casha
Eliana Gomez Blanco“Guess What”Ray AgiusAlfred C. Sant
Lyndsay“Haunted”Michael James Down, Will Taylor, Primoz Poglajen, Jonas Gladnikoff, Johnny Sanchez, Sara LjunggrenMichael James Down, Will Taylor, Primoz Poglajen, Jonas Gladnikoff, Johnny Sanchez
Giada“I Depend On You”Melanie GeorgiouMelanie Georgiou
STEFAN“Heartbreaker”Stefan Galea, Rikki Lee SciclunaStefan Galea, Matthew Mercieca (Muxu)
Maxine Pace“Alone”TBCTBC
Chris Grech“Indescribable”Joakim Dubbelman, Gerard James Borg, Jesper Rune, Arve FursetJoakim Dubbelman, Gerard James Borg, Jesper Rune, Arve Furset
DAN“It’ll Be Ok”Daniel Muscat CaruanaDaniel Muscat Caruana
Mark Anthony Bartolo“Tears”Mark Anthony BartoloMark Anthony Bartolo
Clintess“Lura Qatt”
(Never Back)
Dominic CiniEtienne Micallef
Jake“Love You Like That”Primoz Poglajen, Jonas Gladnikoff,Michael James DownPrimoz Poglajen , Michael James Down
Brooke“Checkmate”Brooke Borg, Gerard James Borg, Christian Rabb, Dino Medanhodzic, Lukas Meijer Brooke Borg, Gerard James Borg, Christian Rabb, Dino Medanhodzic, Lukas Meijer
Maria Christina“Our Flame”Erik Horvath, Rickard Bonde Truumeel, Linda Persson, Ylva PerssonEmil Calleja Bayliss
Chrsitian Arding“Eku Ċar”
(Clear Echo)
Jan van DijckEmil Calleja Bayliss
Klinsmann“Piranha”Mats Ygfors, Robin Svensson, Magdalena Ohlin, Gerard James BorgMats Ygfors, Robin Svensson, Magdalena Ohlin, Gerard James Borg.
Aidan“Reġina”Aidan Cassar & Boban ApostolovAidan Cassar
Greta Tude“Sound Of My Stilettos”Cyprian CassarMuxu & Antoine Farrugia
Dominic & Anna“Whatever Wind May Blow”Alexander Berger, Jonas Gladnikoff, Will Tailor, Michael TaubenAlexander Berger
Ian“On My Own”Melanie GeorgiouMelanie Georgiou
Geo Debono“The Mirror”Daniele MorettiNaill Mooney / Natasha Turner
Haley“Tik Tok”Philip VellaGerard James Borg
Fabrizio Daniello“Try To Be Better”Johan BejerholmJohan Bejerholm
John Galea“Trailblazer”John GaleaJohn Galea
Jessika“Unapologetic”Jessica Muscat, Stefan MoessleJessica Muscat, Stefan Moessle
Nathan Psaila“Creeping Walls”Dominic Cini, Jonas GladinikoffEmil Calleja Bayliss
Stefan Xuereb“What Do You Want”Richard MicallefAidan O’ Connor
Maria Debono“X’Allegrija”
(What Joy)
Cyprian, MuxuCyprian and Muxu
Francesca Sciberras“Masquerade”Marco DebonoRita Pace
Dario Mifsud Bonnici“Pawn In A Game”Henric Pierroff, Emil Vaker, Karin PierroffHenric Pierroff, Emil Vaker, Karin Pierroff
Cheryl Balzan“La La Land”David Cassar Torregiani, Cheryl Balzan and Toby FarrugiaCheryl Balzan

MESC 2023

The Malta Eurovision Song Contest is set to take place throughout January and February 2023. Four quarter-finals will be held on January 13th, 20th, 27th and February 3rd respectively. Of the forty artists competing, only 24 will make it to the semi-final on February 9th. Eight songs will be knocked out of contention and the remaining 16 songs will advance to the final. At the final, broadcast on February 11th, a combination of a jury and the public vote will help to determine the winner.

Malta’s Eurovision journey

Malta made its Eurovision debut in 1971, with Joe Grech performing “Marija I-Maltija” (Maria the Maltese Lass), finishing 18th with 52 points. Malta did not participate in Eurovision from 1975 until 1991. That year they returned with the song “Could It Be” by Paul Giordimaina and Georgina, finishing 12th with 32 points.

Since then, Malta has been at every Eurovision and finished in the top 10 an impressive 12 times. Their best result so far is second place, which they’ve achieved twice. The first time was in 2002, when Ira Losco sang “7th Wonder,” and the second time in 2005 with Chiara’s “Angel.” Malta’s most recent Eurovision entry was Emma Muscat, who scored 47 points in the semi-final, earning 16th place and therefore, not qualifying for the final with the song “I Am What I Am”.

What do you make of the quarter-finalists? Are there any artists you will be hoping that will make it to the semi-finals? Will you be watching the Malta Eurovision Song Contest 2023? As always, let us know what you think by commenting below. Also, be sure to follow “That Eurovision Site” on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter and Tiktok as we prepare for Eurovision 2023!

News Source: PBS

Photo Credit: PBS

3 thoughts on “🇲🇹 Composers and Authors of MESC 2023 entries revealed

Leave a Reply