🎶 Eurovision music round-up: April 2023

🎶 Eurovision music round-up: April 2023

The Winners

Måns Zelmerlöw – “Andetag” (feat The Agreement)

Last we heard new music from Måns, he released some Christmas music and wrapped up his stint on “Så mycket bättre”. His new song “Andetag” (Breath) is a collaboration with band The Agreement, who he has played with frequently over the years. Sweden’s 2015 winner wrote the song together with Alex Runo and Andreas Landegren. Writing about the song on Instagram, Måns says that “[t]he idea for Andetag came from Ronja the Robber’s Daughter (as does the tour name Vårskrik/Spring Cries)”.

Eimear Quinn, Gavan Ring, and Dublin Brass Ensemble – “Peace Upon This Land”

This is the second time I get to mention Eimear Quinn in the round-ups since I started doing them, and writing about her music always makes me very happy. “Peace Upon This Land” is the first song of the “Breath Upon The Flame” project. The self-titled album, which will be released on a to-be-announced date, aims to reimagine Irish music for voice and brass, and will feature “Eimear Quinn, Gavan Ring, Dublin Brass and friends” according to their Twitter. The song “Peace Upon This Land” was released to mark the 25th anniversary of the Good Friday Agreement. Lyrics for the song were written by Brendan Graham, while Siúbhán Ní Ghríofa composed the track.

Salvador Sobral – “al llegar” (feat. Jorge Drexler)

Did anyone ask for a beautifully soft and smooth duet? Then Salvador Sobral’s new song “al llegar” (arriving) is just what you need. The song, which sees Salvador sing with Uruguayan artist Jorge Drexler, is about feeling lost every time after achieving one’s goals. “al llegar” is the first song of Salvador’s upcoming album “TIMBRE”. His fourth studio album will consist of 11 tracks and release September 29th.

Céline Dion – “Love Again”

The Queen of Power Ballads is back with new music ahead of her big screen debut in “Love Again”. This is her first new release since being diagnosed with stiff-person syndrome. Title track “Love Again” is a slower track that slots right in with the rest of Céline’s discography, while still feeling new. “Love Again” (the movie, not the song) is coming to cinemas across the USA and Canada on May 5th (check your local cinema listings if, like me, you live elsewhere) and is based on the 2016 German film “SMS für Dich” (Text for You). “Love Again” (the album, not the song or movie) is coming out May 12th and features 11 Céline Dion songs and three score tracks.

Kalush Orchestra, bbno$, DITVAK – “Ushme Uturbe”

Kalush Orchestra musically travel across the Atlantic, working with Ukrainian DJ DITVAK and the Canadian rapper bbno$ for new song “Ushme Uturbe”. Kaulsh Orchestra’s sound is combined with an astoundingly catchy electronic production and and English language verse and chrous line by bbno$ to create a fascinating final product.

Benjamin Ingrosso & Carola – “To Love Somebody”

Carola competed in Eurovision thrice, and winning it once, and Benjamin also competed in Eurovision once. Now, they combine forces to cover the Bee Gees classic “To Love Somebody”. The blue-eyed soul original has been ever-so-slightly stripped back and altered musically, and this only further highlights how well these two sing together. The song was performed by the two on Benjamin’s imaginatively titled food and music show Benjamin’s.

Alexander Rybak feat. Grace Kelly – “1000 Views”

Me and many others might first go: “Wait a minute… Grace Kelly?” And to those I say: no, not that one. Besides the American actress and Princess of Monaco that titled a Mika song, there are other famous Grace Kellys (Graces Kelly?). One of these is jazz musician Grace Kelly, who is well known among jazz fans. Those who aren’t as tuned in to jazz will either be familiar with her hit “Feels Like Home”, or through her having worked as one of the house band members on The Late Show with Stephen Colbert. Rybak and Kelly teamed up for new song “1000 Views”, an upbeat and celebratory track.

Katrina Leskanich – “Shut Your Mouth”

Katrina was the frontwoman of Katrina and the Waves, who won Eurovision in 1997 but, to those outside of Eurovision, are definitely best known for “Walking on Sunshine”. The band broke up in 1999, but Katrina Leskanich has continued steadily releasing music ever since. Her latest song is “Shut Your Mouth”, a throwback rock track.

Next page: New music and versions released by the 2023 artists

One thought on “🎶 Eurovision music round-up: April 2023

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: