🎶Eurovision music round-up: August 2023

🎶Eurovision music round-up: August 2023

The Winners

Kalush Orchestra – “Ти мене”

Following a number of English-language releases, Kalush go back to Ukranian-language lyrics while surprising with a new sound on live-recorded track “Ти мене” (You me). The track is a complete remake of their 2019 release “Не маринуй”. More folk-influences and no electronic instrumentation transform this track in an absolutely vibe of a banger. Kalush Orchestra have released this song in anticipation of their upcoming tour.

KALUSH – “А ти знала”

No, I won’t say it again. But yes, of course KALUSH (non-Orchestra) have new music too! “А ти знала” (And you knew). It’s a sound we haven’t heard from them in a while (ever?), as it is a love track. Dedicated to the girlfriend of band leader Oleh Psiuk as a birthday gift.

Måns Zelmerlöw & The Agreement – “Perfectly Damaged”

The agreement between Måns and The Agreement continues on with new track “Perfectly Damaged”. It’s another slick slice of adult contemporary pop-rock by the 2015 winner and the band he has a long and fruitful history with.

Jamala – “The Great Pretender” and “Frozen”

The latest addition of my much loathed series of platform specific singles are two new tracks by Jamala. Well, new, as always the Spotify Singles are a rerecording of an old track and a cover of someone elses. Jamala picked “The Great Pretender” and made the production beautifully rich this time, making for a very new nice version. Her “Frozen” cover, meanwhile, goes for a more vibey approach than the devastating build-up of the original, creating a stunning effect of its own. The smooth electronica of the music melds beautifully with Jamala’s voice, who at times goes into a slight lounge singer mode for a fascinating blend of sounds.

Agnetha Fältskog – “Where Do We Go From Here?”

Usually I would let a radio debut go unmentioned and just write about the song for its real release, but for ABBA-related tracks I obviously have to make an exception. Agnetha Fältskog debuted her new single “Where Do We Go From Here?” on Zoe Ball’s BBC Radio 2 show. The track marks the return to solo music for Agnetha. Her first album dates back to 1968, with her latest solo effort being from 2013.

Duncan Laurence – “Anything” and “Rest in Peace”

The 2019 winner had to slightly delay his new releases, but they’re finally out now. Check out Duncan Laurence’s new tracks “Anything” and “Rest in Peace” below:

One thought on “🎶Eurovision music round-up: August 2023

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: